Site History

The current website site succeeds Mark Wilden’s original Vandercook Proof Press website (2003–2005). On behalf of all Vandercook enthusiasts, The current website owner, Paul Moxon, thanks him for his good work. Mark based his site on data and commentary provided by Harold E. Sterne, former co-owner of Vandersons, and by Fritz Klinke owner of NA Graphics. Mark was also guided by Gerald Lange, author of Printing Digital Type on the Hand-Operated Flatbed Cylinder Press and moderator of the PPLetterpress Discussion List, and by Robert R. Vandercook, Jr., great-grandson of Robert O. Vandercook and grandson of Fred Vandercook. Other helpful people to Mark were: Mel Ristau, Casey McGarr, Bill Wetzel, George Hentea, Jeffrey Loop, Martha Chiplis, Emily Johnson, Nels Johnson, Paul Moxon, Eric Holub, Lance Williams, John Horn, Dave Celani, Neil Giroux, Bill Litfin, Rich Campbell, Arie C. Koelewyn, Greg Shattenberg, and Walker Rumble.

As of March 2005, this site is maintained by Paul Moxon a designer and letterpress printer who leads workshops on letterpress printing and Vandercook maintenance at universities and book arts centers throughout North America.
Paul created the domain name and gave the site a graphic identity. The vanderblog forum was launched 9/12/06. Catalog images of presses were scanned from catalogs and are used courtesy of NA Graphics.

Paul is grateful for the continuing support of Fritz Klinke/NA Graphics and the support of the late Hal Sterne. Paul also wishes to thank the following persons and organizations: Paul Aken, Paul Alessini, Michael Babcock, Rocky Baranowski, Paul Brown, Eric Brunvand, Dave Buchen, Simon Caquard, Katherine Case, Martha Chiplis, Terry Chouinard, Kate Clapper, Jason Davis, Robert Finkel, Scott Fisk, Colin Frazer, Sandra Fritz & Illinois State Library, Julie Gibb & Christian Morrison, Margaret Nolan Hay, Eric Holub, John Horn, M’Lissa Kesterman & Cincinnati Historical Society, Ellen Knudson, Harold Kyle, Gerald Lange, Kevin B. Leonard & Northwestern University Library Archives, Elisabeth Long, Jeffrey Loop, Eric May, Rob Miller, Steve Miller & The University of Alabama MFA in Book Arts Program, Andrew Miller-Brown, Mike O’Conner & Amalgamated Printers Association, Martyn Ould, Minnesota Center for Book Arts, Asa Peavy, Lorenzo Pellegrinelli, Steve Pittelkow, Marnie Powers-Torrey, Gunars Prande, Pulaski (NY) Historical Society, Paul Romaine, David S. Rose, Nathan Rose, Emil Rozek, Alan Runfeldt, Champe Smith, Jennifer Sorensen, Jessica Spring, Stacey Stern, Chuck Sumner, Steve Sylvester, Luis Miguel Valdes, Linda Wilbur, Wilmette (Illinois) Public Library, Gretchen Winger, David Wolske, and Yellowstone National Park Archives Service. Also, these former Vandercook & Sons employees: Bill Critchlow, Stanley Metza, Dick Tower, and Gene Wenderski.

Copyright © 2024 vandercookpress.infoTheme by SiteOrigin
Scroll to top